Food & Recipes

I’m NOT a Foodie but damn do I LOVE food!

Like many people, I have a Pinterest account and all the apps for it on my phone and tablet just to keep track and add.  I love the way I can take all my favorite things from celebrities to craft ideas to vacation planning and the list goes on and put them into little boxes for safe keeping.

untitledMy largest boards; however, are the food related ones.  I made separate boards because my recipe board was becoming enormous and I couldn’t find stuff.  I have a “salads and side dishes” board, a “sugary treats and super sweets” board and even a “drinks for tough days” board.

My thing for food started in my childhood.  My family owned a restaurant (in fact, we have for 35 years and only recently decided to close).  I grew up in a place and a family that was all

after a very loud Christmas dinner (my hubby is the cute one in blue!)
after a very loud Christmas dinner (my hubby is the cute one in blue!)

about loud family dinners with homemade pork roast, sweetpotato casseroles, homemade out of this world pies, and just a pure love (verging on addiction) to food.

I have worked in a variety of food service establishments besides the restaurant we owned.  I worked as a hostess at

The restaurant my grandfather purchased 35 years ago.
The restaurant my grandfather purchased 35 years ago.

King’s Family Restaurant (did not care for the manager or co-workers to be honest), I was a breakfast hostess at Hampton Inn, I worked as a cook then shift manager at Arby’s and a cashier at Taco Bell.  I am no longer in the food business but I have not lost my appreciation for those who are whether it be at a fast food restaurant or a sit down diner.

My favorite type of food is sweets.  I love cheesecake and every variety of.  And because of that, I decided to share one of the recipes I have pinned on Pinterest.

It is a red velvet cheesecake (just in time for Valentine’s Day) and the full recipe can be found on recipegirl.com

9a1d74ea7d2295806acf0621b2245d33Red Velvet Cheesecake Cake

Yield: 12 to 14 servings

Prep Time: 1 hr + cooling and chill times

Cook Time: 1 hr, 15 min

Leave a Reply

