Thoughts

Okay, hasn’t it gone too far?

I’m not overly political.  I didn’t vote last election (gasp from the crowd) but I find the terms racist being thrown around like leave from the trees.  Now discriminatory is a better term in my opinion because there are many ways one is treated differently such as weight, education, age, social media pictures and so on.  I’m writing this because of a recent opinion of Raven- Symone on The View.  She stated that  “Just to bring it back, can we take back ‘racist’ and say ‘discriminatory,’ because I think that’s a better word,” she said during the show. “And I am very discriminatory against words like the ones that they were saying in the video. I’m not about to hire you if your name is Watermelondrea. It’s just not going to happen. I’m not going to hire you.”  And truth of the matter is, many people would but the responses on Facebook alone assume that such names are predominately “black” people.  Believe me that is not the case has I have known many people.  In fact, I knew someone with a name pronounced like mine but rather than the CHRIS before the TINA, she had KHRYS.  Imagine seeing KHRYSTINA, probably would make you wonder about ethnicity or how to pronounce it before sounding it out.  But this girl is as white as can be!

Now I do not think that discrimination of any sort whether it be racism or weight related or education related but the truth is everyone is discriminated in some way or another.  I know I am treated differently by older people because I am only 28.  I know I am looked at a bit different when I walk in the gym at nearly 300 lbs.  I have 2 degrees that I don’t necessarily use but I tend to be treated like I am maybe “more” intelligent or I work “harder” than other people who don’t have an education which I know isn’t the truth.

This discrimination will not end, it just won’t and we might as well get pass it but I wonder why we forget that everyone has the right to their opinion; in fact, it’s in the amendment.  So what someone doesn’t like your opinion on it?  You could defend it and have an interesting debate preferably without violence?  You could drop the conversation all together and agree to disagree.  Why attack someone though till they agree with everything you say? And I don’t mean actually attack in a violent manner because that is taking it too far (for example the Oregon shooting) but drilling it into their head until they feel the need to get violent because you cannot handle someone disagreeing with you for you have the only “right” to “your” opinion and that should be “everyone’s” opinion because it is “right”.

So what I am getting at is discrimination will never end (heck, I’m technically discriminating now just on a slightly larger scale) and to be honest, neither will violent behavior but I think we as humans regardless of what country we live in, ethnicity, level of education, marital status, sexual preference, and disabilities we have should stop and realize that we are in fact, human and that we make decisions that may or may not turn out to be the best for themselves or others.  Whatever we do affects each other not just ourselves and we must learn to take the events that happen after what we have done.

I’m off my soap box for the day!

Bye for now

Untitled

Leave a Reply

