Health, Trying to Conceive

Trying to Conceive-Part 1

My husband and I have reached that point in our lives when we want to have a child more than anything. We’ve never prevented except for a small time when I was dealing with removing my endometrial hyperplasia (excessive proliferation of the cells of the inner lining of the uterus) which required me to go on Depo for 6 months.

But before I go on any further, I’m going to backtrack to my history (I’ll try to be brief)

When I was 11, I started my period and from the very start, it was irregular. It was very heavy almost debilitating, and rarely came at a regular time. My mother did the usual, talk to the doctor which just suggested birth control to regulate and that happened multiple times through out my teens and early adulthood. It would work for a short while and then return. I’ve had extreme acne, very difficult time losing weight (I went from 160 lbs in my sophomore year of high school to 190 in my senior year and last year at my heaviest of 296 lbs) and my once thick hair is starting to thin out now.

Flash forward to the present, I have lost a couple sizes over the last year after exercising 5 days a week and reducing a few things (rarely eat fast food, drink very little pop) and I have gone from 296 to 270 although I fluctuate to 274 sometimes. It hasn’t been easy and I doubt it ever will to fight the ingrained eating habits that have built over my 28 years. I love food but I realized I love the idea of having a child with my husband (in any form but preferably biologically) than I love even myself. I think few people appreciate having a child of their own, especially if it didn’t take long for them to conceive.

My husband and I have been married for 5 years and are honestly, in no way capable of providing an extravagant life for a child at the moment except our love. We’ve never used protection (except for the time mentioned above) and the total length of our relationship is 7 years. Seven years and no baby. I know there are people who’ve waited longer and gone through all these treatments which is impossible for us to afford. So I finally went and did some research and testing done (which should have been done much sooner for my own health’s sake), and I found out that it is possible for me to have PCOS and the blood tests found that I have too much insulin in my system. Insulin resistance, a common symptom of PCOS along with many other things, can cause the ovaries to make more androgens (male hormones) as well as be a precursor to diabetes. By having more androgens than is normal, things like increased body hair, acne, and irregular or few periods and difficulty getting pregnant. It can also cause cystic ovaries (which I do not have).

I wish I would have done these tests and research sooner for many reasons but especially for the constant feeling like something was wrong with me. 1 in 10 women will have PCOS and there is no cure because it is more than a disease because hormones can’t exactly be changed only controlled.

So, I have been prescribed Metformin, a drug often prescribed for controlling diabetes and to assist in controlling PCOS insulin resistance. It’s part one to the journey to being a mom and in general, a healthier woman.

Leave a Reply

