Food & Recipes

No Bake Lemon Ice Box Cake: Not a complete Pinterest Fail

c7cf8b92b535ef0ca1f142993eb9c269I made this for Easter while where was a few issues, it came out quite tasty, a fresh, light lemon dessert.

My hiccups were I couldn’t find sugar free lemon pudding (or regular lemon pudding either) at my local grocery store so I improvised and used 2 sugar free vanilla puddings with 1 sugar free lemon jello mix. It allowed it to have the same lemon flavor. I used sugar free because I have family members who are diabetic and never wrong to cut out sugar. (I also used sugar free whipped cream) I also had issues with the icing you make for on top and the graham crackers showing through because I had to break some to get the layered effect right. I fixed that with covering it with another layer of whipped cream and some lemon zest to make it look like it belonged (and upped my dessert diva prowess). Thanks to Six Sisters’ Stuff for the recipe.

No Bake Lemon Ice Box Cake
Ingredients:
2 (3.5 oz) packages instant lemon pudding mix
1 (8 0z) container Cool-Whip
3 cups milk
1 (16 oz) package graham crackers

Lemon Frosting:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1-2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Directions:
In a large bowl, mix together the pudding mixes, Cool Whip, and milk.
Using a 9×13″ pan, place a single layer of graham crackers on the bottom of the pan (you may have to break a few graham crackers so that the entire bottom of the pan is covered). Spread half of the pudding mixture evenly over the graham crackers. Place another single layer of graham crackers on top of the pudding and then layer the second half of the pudding on top of the crackers. Place one more single layer of graham crackers on top of the pudding.

Mix together ingredients for the lemon frosting and spread on top of the cake. Cover and place in the fridge for about 4 hours.

Leave a Reply

