Pregnancy

Pregnancy 1st Trimester: Be Careful what You wish for!

So, I am 6 weeks pregnant now and I was talking to my husband last night how part of me wants to test because the only symptoms that I’ve had so far are heavier sensitive breasts, slight cramps ranging from mild to the occasional sharp jab (normal as long as it goes away and isn’t followed by bleeding), tired, and emotional. I cry every day worried that I won’t keep the baby for the whole pregnancy, how we’ll cover the bills, doctor’s appointments and work schedules. I’m usually okay after the cry but I know it probably isn’t good to dwell on such things. Today, I thought of my grandpa who passed away a few years ago. I just felt him there and it made me cry. See, I was the first grandchild and while this wouldn’t be his first great grandchild, it feels important and he isn’t here to see them.

Well, the morning sickness has kicked in. I woke up this morning feeling nauseous like I needed to eat but when I tried to even taken my prenatal gummy vitamin, I gagged and I barely got down a piece of peanut butter toast without feeling funky. No vomiting yet but I now know better!

I found out after my blood tests that my blood platelets are elevated (they want a max of 400,000 and I have 485,000) so I have an appointment with an hematologist on the 24th at 2:30 pm. I did some searching for other women who have/had same issues and there seem to be plenty out there with a little bit more watching have normal pregnancies and have much higher than mine. They are only testing because previous tests were elevated and they fear my blood my clot faster which can lead to poor circulation, miscarriage (ugh), lining issues, etc. But, I’m trying not to think about it too much.

Leave a Reply

