Pregnancy

Pregnancy 1st Trimester: Nervous, Nauseous, & Not able to Sleep

The title is pretty much it in a nutshell. In a couple of days, I will be 8 weeks pregnant and there is only 1 more month of the first trimester. It’s hard to believe that I am pregnant sometimes but the more I notice smells, random nausea, constant peeing, and the inability to sleep straight through the night; it has become very real.

My first ultrasound is next week and I am nervous as hell. The nausea is tolerable but sometimes it doesn’t matter if I’ll eat early because I’ll still feel it and other times I won’t feel it at all. I have to smell lemon essential oil before feeding my cat and my gummy prenatal vitamins make me gag so I have to drink something really fast when I do take them. My diet is very strange lately, I seem to not want to go near eggs and I normally love breakfast. I am in love with cheese  (especially those little Velveeta cups) and KitKats (or anything like them). I still have a massive sweet tooth but I think I have it under control. I have to do some shopping because I don’t have a lot at home and I’m trying to think of things that I’ll actually want to eat and make (preferably with as few of dishes as possible because I hate doing them, I even hate putting them in the dishwasher). I’m worried about my blood pressure because it definitely goes up when stressed/nervous and while my tests came back positive, I’m still worried about gestational diabetes later on.

But before the ultrasound and hospital tours next week, I have an appointment this Wednesday with a hematologist. When my blood tests came back, they found my blood platelets were elevated (485,000 compared to the 400,000 that is considered normal). This is a trend in previous tests so they want me to go in because it could mean my blood clots faster than normal which could lead to circulation issues and such. I have a strong family history of heart disease (both grandparents had biopsies, clots, stints, grandpa had a pacemaker and both parents have high blood pressure) so I obviously don’t want to have such problems especially after 5 years of trying to conceive.

Luckily, my husband is going with me and we will go to chipotle afterwards. They’ll probably do blood tests too to check for disorders and such but I have looked it up on boards and I am not alone and plenty of women have higher platelets than me and have perfectly normal and healthy pregnancies. (crossed fingers!)

Leave a Reply

